Peoria Police honor fallen officers, announce awards for National Police Week

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

Peoria, Ill. (HOI) – Peoria Police held their annual Police Memorial Service and Awards program on Wednesday for National Police week. Close to 100 officers and residents gathered with appreciation and recognition of fall Peoria police officers. Members of the honor guard placed a single rose at the base of the fallen officer memorial for each of the 14 officers that have been killed in the line of duty for Peoria.

“It’s also important for the newer officers to see that the ones who did lay this path are not forgotten,” said Police Chief Loren Marion.

Following the ceremony, the officers and families went inside the Peoria Civic Center for the annual awards and recognition ceremony.


Here are the awards and their recipients:

2018 Police Officer of the Year: Officer Jared Moor

2019 American Legion Meritorious Service Award: Sergeant Sherrell Stinson

2018 Life Saving Certificate:
Officer Nicholas Cox
Officer Jonathan Irving
Officer Haley Hergenrother
Officer Robert Allen
Detective Denise White

2018 Distinguished Service Commissioned:
Sergeant Jacob Faw
Officer Jacob Bainter
Officer Zachary Cowan
Officer Nicholas Cox
Officer Brian Moore
Officer Travis Ellefritz
Officer Jared Moore
Special Agent Kevin Brown
Officer Todd Leach
Officer David Logan

2018 Combat Valor Award
Officer Nate Adams
Officer Joseph Harris
Officer Ian McDowell

2018 Silver Shield Award
Officer Ian McDowell

2018 Police Valor Award
Officer Ryan Isonhart

2018 Distinguished Service Civilian
Maria Bullock
Carla Johnson
Paralee Jenkins

Citizen Distinguished Service
Dr. Elsburgh Clarke





Jenise Rebholz

Jenise Rebholz

Evening Anchor, Heart of Illinois ABC @JeniseRebholzTV

More News

Connect with HOI ABC
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content